		1991	1996	2001	
	Total valid votes	34,103,777	42,418,274	55,736,625	
BNP	Seats	140	116	193	
	Vote Share	30.81%	33.62%	40.97%	
	(a) Total votes	10,507,549	14,255,986	22,833,978	
	(b) Votes by winners	7,367,549	7,129,265	19,340,868	
	(b) ÷ (a)	70.11%	50.00%	84.70%	
Awami League	Seats	88	146	62	
	Vote Share	30.08%	37.49%	40.13%	
	(a) Total votes	10,259,866	15,882,792	22,365,516	
	(b) Votes by winners	4,166,491	9,266,259	5,629,640	
	(b) ÷ (a)	40.60%	58.34%	25.17%	
Jamaat-e-Islami	Seats	18	3	17	
(JI)	Vote Share	12.13%	8.62%	4.28%	
	(a) Total votes	4,136,661	3,653,013	2,385,361	
	(b) Votes by winners	935,159	116,725	1,757,506	
	(b) ÷ (a)	22.60%	3.19%	73.67%	
Jatiya Party	Seats	35	32	14	
(Ershad)	Vote Share	11.92%	16.41%	7.25%	
	(a) Total votes	4,063,537	6,954,981	4,038,453	
	(b) Votes by winners	1,469,698	1,674,502	1,265,111	
	(b) ÷ (a)	36.16%	24.07%	31.32%	
Jatiya Party	Seats			4	
(Najiur-Firoz)	Vote Share			1.12%	
Jatiya Party	Seats			1	
(Manju)	Vote Share			0.44%	
IOJ (Islami	Seats	1	1	2	
Oikya Jote)	Vote Shar	0.79%	1.09%	0.68%	
Other parties	Seats	15	1	1	
	Vote Share	5.01%	0.23%	0.47%	
	(a)Total votes	1,705,727	97,916	261,344	
	(b) Votes by winners	627,735	37,282	80,558	
	(b) ÷ (a)	36.80%	38.07%	30.83%	

Results of Parliamentary Elections in 1991, 1996, 2001

Independents	Seats	3	1	6
	Vote Share	4.39%	1.06%	4.06%
	(a) Total votes	1,497,396	450,732	2,262,073
	(b) Votes by winners	87,720	45,820	43,2321
	(b) ÷ (a)	5.85%	10.17%	19.11%
	·	·		·
BNP + JI	Seats	158	119	210
	Vote Share	42.94%	42.24%	45.25%
	(a) Total votes	14,644,210	17,908,999	25,219,339
	(b) Votes by winners	8,302,708	7,245,990	21,098,374
	(b) ÷ (a)	56.69%	40.46%	83.65%
	Nmber of Candidates			
	BNP	300	300	252
	Л	222	300	31

In 2001 election, JP (E) stood from IJOF (Islamic Jatiya Oikya Front).

	1991		1996		2001	
Dhaka	BNP	AL	BNP	AL	BNP	AL
Dhaka 4	56,362		81,522	102,939	151, 368	123,002
Dhaka 5	71,266	45,811	109,370	132,443	211,440	166,832
Dhaka 6	59,851	34,101	95,673	104,694	156,358	116,976
Dhaka 7	76,601	49,362	87,255	84,940	123,686	98,229
Dhaka 8	53,651	34,285	58,367	77,642	89,789	88,697
Dhaka 9	55,946	29,464	75,855	84,150	126,985	86,908
Dhaka 10	45,711	29,451	63,631	74,214	94,995	73,043
Dhaka 11	49,886	47,750	102,307	128,766	193,945	163,660
(a)Sub total	469,274	270,224	673,980	789,788	1,148,566	917,347
(b)Total votes in Dhaka	883,125		1,697,237		2,148,605	
(a) ÷ (b)	53.13%	30.59%	39.17%	46.53%	53.45%	42.69%
Chittagong						
Chittagong 8	69.422	44.154	116,547	106,341	181,584	129,198
Chittagong 9	49,818	48,245	85,171	99,240	131,639	111,935
Chittagong 10	51,138	46,757	81,714	77,088	112,308	90,380
(c)Sub Total	170,378	139,156	283,432	282,669	425,531	331,513
(d)Total votes in Chittagong	353,639		625,425		781,885	
(c) ÷ (d)	48.17%	39.34%	45.31%	45.19%	54.42%	42.39%
Khulna						
Khulna 2	41,590	28,266	56,306	54,778	91,819	62,021
Khulna 3	38,872	31,502	37,780	39,332	72,285	55,797
(e)Sub total	80,462	59,768	94,086	94,110	164,104	117,818
(f) Total votes in Khulna	189,943		248,844		297,398	
(e) ÷ (f)	42.36%	31.46%	37.80%	37.81%	55.17%	39.61%
Total in 3 cities						
(g)Total (a+c+e)	720,114	469,148	1,051,498	1,166,567	1,738,201	1,366,678
(h)Total (b+d+f)	1,426,707		2,571,506		3,227,888	
(g) ÷ (h)	50.47%	32.88%	40.89%	45.36%	53.84%	42.33%

(Sources: Jatiya Shangshad Election 1991, 7th Jatiya Shangshad Election, 8th Parliamentary Election by Bangladesh Election Commission)